Who Wants to Be a Superhero?

If you haven’t realized it yet, I’m a real nerd when it comes to comic books and comic related characters. As far back as I remember I used to read comics and buy superhero action figures, but some of us never grow out of that phase. I still collect comics and buy action figures to this day! I first started my action figure collection by buying movie licensed Marvel figures, making my mind up by not buying the comic version of their counterparts. However, when I wanted to collect DC movie licensed figures, I found DC to be more obscure when it comes to movie licenses.

DC Superheroes

DC Superheroes (From the Left: John Stewart Green Lantern, The Eradicator, Superman, The Flash, Superboy, Batman, Martian Manhunter, Supergirl, Steel & The Blue Beetle)

So from then on, when it came to DC,  I opted into getting their comic book versions of the figures and to be honest I don’t regret it at all. Basically, what I’m trying to do, is get the figures respected family like Superman, Supergirl, Superboy, Steel etc. and their villains like Lex Luthor, Bizarro, Cyborg Superman etc. but I’m still collecting trying to build the Justice League, Teen Titans, the Flash family, the Batman family and their respected villains.

I’m bringing my hobby up to segue into an actual article I read online. It seems not everybody sticks to collecting comics and action figures though; in fact, some people want to live the superhero life. A Seattle superhero, that goes by the name Phoenix Jones, was arrested last month for trying to stop a fight by pepper spraying the assailants. Phoenix is no joke though, I mean this guy has weapons and even a film crew trailing his every move (can you say reality show?). Stan Lee even had a reality show for up and coming superheroes called Who Wants to Be a Superhero where people dress up in their superhero costume and compete in Fear Factor type contests.

DC Super Villains

DC Super Villains (From the Left: Deathstroke, Lex Luthor, Cyborg Superman, The Joker, Mongul, Yellow Lantern Cyborg Superman & Doomsday)

Why does the superhero lifestyle fascinate us more now than say ten years ago? With films as Kick-Ass, Defendor, and Super where a regular, average Joe type turns to a superhero vigilante by putting a costume together and starting to gain some notoriety through social media. Me, personally, I like to stay grounded in reality and get my superhero experience by playing DC Universe Online. This is Livin’ Large and you’ve been Largely Livin’

UPDATE (Nov. 25th): According to the November 25th Edition of the Epoch Times, Vancouver is looking to change its citizen’s arrest with a bill dubbed “The Lucy Moose” bill in order to hold criminals under citizen’s arrest for even longer and this is making real life Superheroes like Thanatos happy becuase this bill would help in their crime fighting.

Keep In Touch

