Beat’em Up

If you’re an ’80s baby like me then you’d remember the arcades, the 16-bit era of gaming and the classic beat’em ups. Beat’em ups, to this day, is still one of my favorite of game genres and I play them whenever I get the chance. Some of my favorites that I still own are Streets of Rage (Crazy Ass Music in that game!!), TMNT: Hyper Stone Heist for the Sega Genesis and Turtles in Time for the SNES, and finally, Batman Returns for the SNES. With all that out of the way, I want to talk about the most memorable of Beat’em ups that came out back then and that’s the original Final Fight for SNES. The reason why I bring up Final Fight is because they had a character named Poison that’s a girl in the Japanese version of the game and a Transsexual in the North American games. Because of that, it left gamers wondering if Poison was actually a dude or a girl. I found this video documentary that finally brings the clarification gamers needed on Poison’s gender and it’s really interesting how in-depth it is. Enjoy!

Keep In Touch

