Ginî Piggu

Tales from the Hood

Not quite horror but still an entertaining film!

I’m a big fan of horror movies and a big fan of practical effects rather than computer generated images. A lot of these new school horror movies are all using CGI for their special effects and it I feel it really takes away from the movie. It’s gotten to the point where even blood is done in CGI and it looks ridiculous. Tom Savini perfected the look of fake blood for the cameras only to have his hard work thrown in the trash in favor of computer generated images. How can you call your movie “horror” when your actors aren’t reacting to a tangible creature or threat?!?

I’m not much of a foreign film viewer but I’ve seen a couple of good ones here and there. Matter of fact, City of God is one of my favorite movies of all time and one of the reasons for that is because its well-acted, well scripted and the character development makes you care for certain characters and despise others. I’m not going to lie to you though; Lil Zé made the movie enjoyable for me. A lot of people say Scar Face is one of the greatest hood tales of a man coming up from rags to riches. The character of Tony Montana reportidly inspired a lot of rappers to follow in Montana’s footsteps and all that but to me I regard Scar Face as a mediocre film when compared to City of God. Lil Zé being the superior character over Tony Montana.

Now you might be asking yourself, “Where is he going with this?”

I’ll tell you by answering your question with a question. What do you get when you blend those two genres together? You get such foreign horror series’ like Ginî Piggu or otherwise known in North America as the Guinea Pig Series.  If you’re not familiar with the Guinea Pig movies, they’re a controversial Japanese horror-slasher series filmed in the late ’80s early ’90s and gained notoriety from their first two films. The reason why they gained said notoriety is because of there thought of being an authentic snuff film. Charlie Sheen apparently watched one of them and reported it to the FBI and the creators of the film were investigated and had to prove what they did was indeed fake.

Flower

Just reading the title alone paints a horrible picture in your head

The film I watched over the weekend was the second film in the series called Flower of Flesh and Blood. I heard about this movie in High school from some friends of mine and I always thought the movie wasn’t something I’m into but after watching A Serbian Film, the “La Fin Absolue du Monde” of our time, I thought I can watch this. I will first start by saying the movie was very poetic in nature from the film’s title down to comparing the dismemberment of a woman to blooming cherry blossoms. What little story this movie had, I did enjoy but I prefer if this movie followed the #1 rule in film making and that’s show don’t tell. They also never gave the serial killer a motive behind his actions but I liked the idea of leaving it to the viewer to think about. Another thing I liked about this movie, was the bone chilling scene where the serial killer shows off his “collection” and starts singing a “Lullaby of the Damned”.

But this movie isn’t without its flaws. The serial killer was wearing a Samurai helmet the whole time he was committing the heinous acts and his face was clearly visible. If I were directing this film, I would’ve shrouded his face behind the shadows and only have his eyes visible throughout, or if I was going to show his face I’d have him wearing a Tengu mask. If you don’t know much about the Japanese culture, Buddhists considered the Tengu as demons that brought war wherever they went, almost like the serial killer’s demonic nature.

Was this a good movie? I wouldn’t go as far as to say that, but the movie does warrant a watch. The practical effects make this movie hard to sit through and the “Lullaby of the Damned” scene makes this movie worth checking out. I will say this movie was overhyped though, but that’s just my opinion. This is Livin’ Large and you’ve been Largely Livin’

WATCH AT YOUR OWN RISK

Keep In Touch

