Tekken Tag 2

I’m not really into fighters because, to me, the two best games back in the day were Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat and aside from all the blood and gore, Mortal Kombat was lazily put together by the creators. I mean you got pallet swaps of each character whether male (Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Reptile, Cyrax, Sector, etc.) or female (Mileena, Kitana, Jade). It’s like, if I paid full price for a game and it features 20 characters to choose from but 8 or 9 of them are the same character just different color is just insulting my intelligence. But I guess they pulled it off by giving them all their own personality, “move set” and story so you’re excused MK.

Laziness

I guess if we were living in the MK Universe, putting on a different colored T-Shirt means you’re a different person

As for Street Fighter, their combos and fireballs are just too tedious to memorize and/or pull off. Back in the day when Street Fighter was king, nine times out of ten you’re left getting your ass kicked by a Street Fighter veteran while you’re trying to punch in the right button combinations in order to pull off a fireball, which, in my opinion, leaves the game broken. Nowadays Street Fighter actually has an in game move set and a training tutorial in order to not leave you fending for yourself by spamming the low punch button. So much love to Capcom for that and for keeping the game alive with the original Street Fighter characters that I grew up with.

Move Set

Back in the ’90s it was trail and error and nowadays you can get every characters move set with a push of a button

Tekken Tag

Truly a King of Fighters

It wasn’t until Namco’s Tekken games, specifically Tekken 3 that got me hooked to this fighting series. The game play was really easy to get into whether you were a novice or a Tekken Lord because all four buttons control a different limb on the characters body and combos were a lot easier to pull off/remember compared to MK or Street Fighter (at least in my opinion). When Namco released Tekken Tag, I regarded it as the ultimate party game much like Nintendo’s Super Smash Bros. I can’t tell you how much fun my friends and I had when we booted this game up. I was waiting on a sequel for the Tag series ever since and the good news is we’re FINALLY going to get one this September. Snoopy Snoop Dogg from Long Beach will be making an appearance in Tekken Tag 2 so jump for joy or wince in pain on that fact.

Keep In Touch

